# **Gardner Church of Christ History**

A tent meeting was held in June, 1911 at the southwest corner of the intersection of Park and Center Street. The congregation that was formed from this meeting first assembled on June 25, 1911 in the Woodmen's Hall, on the second floor of the Grange Store on the northwest corner of Park and Elm. Assisting in this endeavor were evangelists H. Grissom Cassell of Section, KS and Ralph C. Yadon of Gentry, MO. Many of the charter members moved their membership from the Church of Christ meeting in the Carroll schoolhouse, south and east of Gardner. The Carroll congregation may have been meeting as early as 1871, when the Sidney Gay family moved into the area from DeWitt County, Illinois.

On June 15, 1912, the congregation met to discuss the purchase of a lot and the erection of a meeting house. The congregation subscribed \$1,535 for the project. A building committee was selected, including the following members: Tom Turner, J. H.

Meng, N.L. Glover, C. L. Dille and E. Y. Gay. The property was deeded to three trustees, C. L. Dille, W. H. Frakes and Fred Hermon, with the understanding that the property would be deeded to elders and their successors, in the event that elders were selected. The building was erected by Cramer and Eyerly with lumber supplied by the Gardner Lumber Company. The building was completed in the fall of 1912. Classrooms were added on the east and north sides of the building in the 1950's and 1960's. Indoor restrooms were added in the 1950's



Photo of newly erected building, 1912



Bible study group, 1912

At a meeting on June 24, 1911, the charter members signed the following statement: "Under the name 'Church of Christ', we, the undersigned, met at Gardner, Kansas, Johnson County, June 18<sup>th</sup>, 1911, in order that we from this time onward might keep the ordinances of the Lord's House as He has commanded us to in the New Testament, which New Testament we take as our only rule of faith and practice." Today, the congregation continues to follow the same pattern, set forth in the New Testament.

The congregation's leadership was provided by a number of evangelists until elders were appointed on Feb. 5, 1961. The evangelists did not act as the congregation's minister, but visited the congregation periodically, serving in a position of leadership as demonstrated in the New Testament by the Lord's church in the first century. The congregation's current leadership is provided by evangelist Richard L. Sparks of Lees Summit, Missouri, after the death of elder Clifford Gottstein in August, 2002.

#### Members in 1911-1912

# June 18, 1911 (charter members)

A. C. Hayden
Elizabeth Hayden
Marian Hayden
Anna Sebring Eaton
Ella May Reed
Sarah C. Reed
Mary Reed
Margaret Carberry
Ella Jewett Blunk
Rachel Jewett
W. H. Frakes

Mary Jane Frakes Edna Frakes

Charity Frakes Hibbard

Angie Rice

Ella Rice Lefmann Carrie Mussick

# **June 19, 1911**John Rice

#### June 25, 1911

William Hutton
Lee Bone
Anna Bone
Mary Hutton
J. H. Meng
Nettie Turner Meng
Thomas Turner

Maria Gay Turner
Rose Cramer
Robert Victor
Ervin Clark
Charley Dille
Mary Dille

William H. Whittiker Sarah H. Whittiker

### **September 24, 1911**

J. R. Mooney Jane Mooney

# October 6, 1911

Mary Blunk

# October 8, 1911

L. H. Adams Kate Adams Fred Hermon Elsie Gay Hermon

# October 9, 1911

Margaret Dille Leonard Coleman Millington Daisy Myers

# June 3, 1912

W. A. Myers Helen Carberry

#### June 9, 1912

Wilson L. Grover Mattie Grover

#### June 16, 1912

Ida Moore Angie Bone

#### **December 7, 1912**

Eliza Turner Edith Turner Gunn Stella Turner

#### **December 29, 1912**

James Quillen Angeline Quillen